Tags

, , ,

 

Today I’m welcoming Erin Bevan to A Writer’s Garden. Erin’s being very frank about gardening and sharing an aspect of it I often feel when summer’s heat hits, and I don’t wanna go outside. Yet, she’s turned that I-don’t-want–to-do-it attitude into a way to break through something most writers face at some time—writer’s block. Welcome, Erin!

 

Writer’s Block. Some people believe in it and some people don’t. Fortunately, I’ll say I’ve been blessed with ideas since I started my writing journey. I have random notes scattered throughout my computer of different thoughts and plots. Maybe a scene, or a rough outline, but I do have ideas. However, I use the term loosely because sometimes these ideas, as good as they seem, don’t really seem to work well on paper. It’s kinda like the time I thought doing an at home wax kit on my bikini line was a good idea. Needless to say, a jar of peanut butter later, I never attempted that again.

My writers block works somewhat like that, minus the messy strips, wax reside, and peanut butter.

This past weekend, since I seemed to get nowhere with my writing, I chose to do something I could see results from almost instantly. I gardened, and let me tell you, I hate gardening. I know this is the gardening blog, and it’s probably very taboo to mention this aspect of myself here, but I hate it. There’s bugs, and it’s hot and dirty. Not my thing, but! I do love the beautiful, vibrant colors when it’s all said and done, and since it’s more instantaneous than seeing any of my book babies come to life, I may just have to start loving the laborious activity.

And while I’m riding on the euphoric wave a newly planted garden and of a story complete and now seeing the light of day, I’m also riding the doubt train as well. I didn’t know I could ride two things at once, but here I am, proving it. I’m super thrilled TANK is over and you can now read his and Annie’s story, but now it’s time for me to move on to the next book in the series. Really, it’s been time for me to move on to the next book for a while, but I couldn’t seem to figure out what happens next in the small town of Black Widow. It’s almost as if my mind really isn’t ready to leave Tank and Annie behind, even though I’m not leaving them behind, but just making room for more stories, more characters, and more romance.

Still, I’ll take one step forward with the characters or the plot and inadvertently move two, three, sometimes four or five steps back. And it’s during these times when I leave my computer and I work on something else. I often tell my friends you can tell when I’m having trouble on a story because I’m redecorating my house, or reorganizing, or decluttering, or even, in this case, gardening. I have to remove myself from the situation and pray that my subconscious is working on the details for me when I just can’t anymore.

So cheers, Green Thumbs!

 

About the Gardner/Author:

Six years ago and nothing more than a desperate housewife, Erin Bevan began her writing journey.

As a child, reading and writing were her nemeses. It wasn’t until she found herself almost utterly alone, in a different country, that she took up the act of reading for enjoyment. Her passion for writing was born not by reading the old classics, but by reading many new tried and true authors of today: Nora Roberts, Mary Kay Andrews, Nicholas Sparks, and Tracy Brogan to name a few.

Clinging to books for friends in a land where not many spoke the English language, she found a secret passion she didn’t know existed inside of her. With nothing more than time on her hands, she honed in on the craft of writing until she finally worked up enough courage to let other people read her stories.

She spends most of her time juggling her three little people and trying to keep everyone’s lives flowing as smoothly as possible. When she isn’t using her super powers to wipe sticky goo from her children’s faces, she spends a little time dabbling in her writing career.

 Connect with Erin Bevan online. www.erinbevan.com  www.facebook.com/erinbevanwrites

 

Tank

Tyler Wilde moves to Black Widow, Texas, to join the Blue Guardians, a local biker club that helps abused women and children. He’s intent on starting his life over, but a small piece of his past collides with his present when he runs into the local waitress, Annie Carter.

Annie’s the girl of his boyhood dreams, and Tyler can’t wait to get reacquainted with her. Only problem is, Annie’s engaged. But what has Tyler more troubled than the diamond on her finger is the bruise that graces her arm. To make matters worse, Annie’s abuser and intended husband is also the town’s Chief of Police.

Tyler is determined to offer Annie a safe haven, but she refuses his help until her life is hanging by a thread.

 Buy Link:

https://www.amazon.com/Tank-Black-Blue-Book-1-ebook/dp/B06ZZCZQ8N/

Notice to readers of sweet romance, Tank contains language and open door love scenes.

 

 

 

 

