Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today gardener/writer Tina Susedik is visiting A Writer’s Garden. Let’s see what she’s been up to since her visit last year.

I believe the last time I posted was last summer shortly before my husband and I were ready to move. We are now settled in our house – in the city. This is new for us as we haven’t lived in a city in thirty years. Even though it was an adjustment, I’ve enjoyed the change. It seems nearly everyone on the block enjoys flowers. I love being able to talk with other gardeners and exchange plants and information without having to drive for miles.

Last year we moved in the middle of summer. Before we left, I dug up plants from our old place and got them in the ground at our new place in between trying to get settled. One thing I didn’t think to do in my rush to get my flowers in the ground, was to mark what I planted and where I planted it. Guess what? I have no idea what should be coming up this spring. A friend also gave me plants last fall and – you guessed it – I didn’t mark anything! So, my gardens will be a surprise. I did plant tulips and daffodils, which came up and were easily recognizable.

One thing we inherited with the house was a beautiful flowering crab in our front yard. Last weekend there was a major marathon that ran past our house. So many runners took the time to comment on the tree – and my tulips. That’s how gorgeous it was. Unfortunately, the blooms have run their course, and as I write this, it’s raining pink blossoms outside.

My husband dug up some evergreen bushes that weren’t doing so well. He then planted some bushes that have some color to them other than green. I look forward to seeing them bloom. I finally have a lilac bush, which is blooming. The city I live in is filled with lilac bushes. At times, that’s all you can smell as you go for walks.

I’ve been slowly adding perennials in the flower bed in the back yard, but since I don’t know what I planted last year, I’ve been rather hesitant to plant too much – if there is such a thing as too many flowers. Not in my opinion, anyway.

My neighbor across the street came over one day as I was planting rose bushes to tell me how excited she was that I was planting them. She said she has a black thumb when it comes to roses and hopes to see mine blooming. So do I.

Moving is always an adventure. Seeing what nature has provided and others before me have planted has been fun. I just hope we live here long enough for me to figure out what I planted.

 

About the Gardener/Writer:

Tina Susedik has loved flowers and gardening for as long as she can remember. Wherever she has lived, and it’s been many, many places, she has tried to make her surroundings filled with flowers. She is a multi-published author in both fiction and non-fiction, covering children, military, history, and romantic mysteries. In June, she will begin hosting her own radio show with Authors on the Air Global Radio Network. She will be interviewing authors in all genres. The title of her show – what else – “Your Book Garden.”

Her newest book is a The Trail to Love, which is part of The Soul Mate Tree Collective. The Trail to Love is a medium heat level romance with open door love scenes.

An ancient legend spanning eras, continents, and worlds. To some, it’s nothing more than a dream. To others, a pretty fairy tale handed down through the generations. 

For those in critical need of their own happy ending, a gift.

 Jack Billabard, mourning the loss of his wife and baby in childbirth, vows to never to love again. After their funeral at Fort Laramie, he rides into the Wyoming hills beyond the ranch he built for his wife. Through his grieving tears, an ancient tree appears, giving him the hope he doesn’t believe is possible. For the next four years, he acts as a guide on the Oregon Trail, taking families to a new life while his looms lonely and stagnant.

The night before her abusive husband’s death, an ancient tree appears in Sarah Nickelson’s yard as she agonizes over how to survive her marriage. The tree gives her hope she can’t help but reject. After all, a tree doesn’t just appear out of nowhere. After her husband ‘s death, and with no options as a widow in Independence, Missouri, Sarah decides to travel to Oregon City as a Mail Order Bride.

During their trek west on the Oregon Trail, Jack and Sarah encounter one another, each afraid of being hurt again. Can they survive dogs and puppies, wind and rainstorms, Indians and unfavorable fellow passengers, while their love blossoms? Will the tree fulfill its promise?

Book available at Amazon

 

Connect with Tina at:

http://tinasusedik.wordpress.com./

Twitter: @tinasusedik

Website: TinaSusedik.com

Facebook: Tina Susedik, Author

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1754353.Tina_Susedik

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/tinasusedik/

 

 

