Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today’s Gardener/Writer guest on A Writer’s Garden is Kathy Bryson. Kathy’s been with us before, but she has a new garden experience to share from one hot spot to another. Welcome, Kathy.

Thanks, Catherine.

Last Christmas, I packed up and moved from Florida to Texas for a new job. It was a great opportunity even though it meant I had to leave my garden behind. I had really mixed feelings about that. I loved my flowerbeds in Florida, but they had started to get away from me. I had to get help for weeding and mulching – a lot of weeding and mulching!

I wasn’t sure that I could manage better in Texas. Where houses are sold by the lot in Florida, they’re sold by the acreage in Texas – way too much change to take on immediately! So I moved into a townhouse and resigned myself to no garden, at least for a while. But then I started learning about just where I’d moved to.

Piney Woods–all photos by permission of Katy Pleake

The eastern spur of Texas isn’t open plains and cattle. It’s the Piney Woods region, pine forests that stretch from inside Oklahoma and Arkansas nearly to the Gulf in Louisiana. Historically known as the ‘Big Thicket,’ it’s considered one of the most biodiverse areas in the world. I live right between the Angelina National Forest and the Davy Crockett National Forest.

two paths

So I’m getting my garden fix after all. My college, Stephen F. Austin State University, sits on 400 acres and had 3 other sites where students practice forestry. Right behind the library is the SFA Mast Arboretum, 10 acres devoted to native plants. It rains almost daily, but that’s no excuse for not taking a walk!

natural gazebo

I had psyched myself up for all the stress of the move, knowing I’d have moments of anxiety and stress and not letting myself take on too much until I got settled. But I’m finding this new environment very inspiring, all sorts of ideas popping up and ticking over.

The pictures above were taken by one my student tutors, Katy Pleake, for a social media project and used by permission.

 

About the Author – 

Kathy Bryson is the award-winning author of a series of leprechaun romances as well as the adventures of a hapless med student. She has degrees in both advertising and literature as well 20+ years in business that came in handy for exposing leprechauns. The zombie stuff she’s making up out of research – mostly! A recent transplant to Texas, she also runs a college writing center and caters to the whims of spoiled cats.

I just released YA/NA fantasy novella Giovanni Joins The Werewolves. Giovanni Goes To Med School became an EPIC 2017 eBook Awards Finalist, and I’m thinking vampires need to take over the campus coffee shops for the sequel. It’s going to be a busy summer!

Author Links –Blog – http://kathybryson.wordpress.com/

Giovanni Joins The Werewolves (The Med School Series Book 3) by [Bryson, Kathy]About Giovanni Joins The Werewolves –

Poor Giovanni! Just as he enters his 2nd year of med school, a voodoo curse catches up with him. He’s determined to get through medical school, even if he now howls under the full moon and has to take himself for walkies! But just as he’s getting used to fur and fangs, Giovanni’s zombie returns, leading him to wonder – exactly how many other monsters are out there?

Book Links –

Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Giovanni-Joins-Werewolves-School-Book-ebook/dp/B06Y1HV2KF

iBooks – https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1222356808

Nook – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/giovanni-joins-the-werewolves-kathy-bryson/1126090475

Kobo – https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/giovanni-joins-the-werewolves

All available outlets! – https://www.books2read.com/u/bMGMM7

 

 

