Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today’s A Writer’s Garden guest is Jenna Victoria, creator of fiction that feeds your faith. She’s going to be talking about patience and her crocus bulbs—all 100 of them! Neither of which I can claim to possess. ☺ Welcome to the blog, Jenna.

 

Patience Has its Own Reward

By Jenna Victoria

 

Last November, a friend helped me plant my first-ever crocus bulbs. We dug about a dozen holes for a huge bag of 50 “Romance” yellow and 50 “Ruby Giant” purple corns (or bulbs). For me, this was emotional, as my long-ago-sold childhood home had gorgeous cheerful crocuses blossom every spring, and many decades had passed since a house I lived in brought me that first wonderful glimpse of springtime. It was emotional, too, given my chemotherapy treatment was still working, and planting the 100 bulbs was investing in hope that I would still be here to see these tiny flowers blossom in the new year.

Late February 2017 brought an unseasonably warm period here in the northeast, followed by extreme bitter cold weather. I was disheartened, as the tiny yellow shoots of crocuses which had delightedly (but barely) stuck their heads up during that February warmth were now withered. Plus, the purple ones hadn’t even made it to the bloom phase before frost and snowfalls came. Their little purple heads were cut off before life above ground ever began.

I couldn’t believe that Mother Nature could be so cold-hearted. Here are my “Romance” yellow crocuses right before the snow, and under ice in a picture of that first small snowfall. Gardener friends sympathized, adding that their tulips and daffodils had met a similar bad fate.

Mollie, the heroine in my new book, Love Among the Lilacs, had planted hopes, too, only to be embattled by circumstances beyond her control. Learning to accept trials, relying on others for encouragement to find hope amid any circumstances – even ones that seem hopeless – can make a huge difference in our outlook. She begins to trust and accept whatever the possible outcomes may be, even falling in love with Sean, who wants to evict her from his great-aunt’s cottage.

Weeks passed with cold temps and shriveled crocuses. Like Mollie, though, I, too, turned my disappointment around. I decided to trust God. His plans are very different than ours, and infinitely better. No doubt that unseasonable February warm patch would make my crocuses blooms hardier next year, and if my cancer was still at bay I’d see them. Imagine my astonishment when after a week of steady warm temperatures – this happened! Glorious, strong-blooming crocuses returned. I was captivated by the view for several brief weeks until the blossoms faded.

And, if that wasn’t enough of a reward for my trust and patience, I left for a brief trip when full onslaught of Spring weather kept steady in New York. Imagine my surprise and wonder when I pulled into my driveway after five days to see this:

A whole robust border of Ruby Giant purple crocuses. Even though they had been planted at the same time as the Romance yellows, ion the same holes, they showed up in God’s timing for me to get a double blessing…another few weeks of crocus viewing.

Psalm 27:14 says “Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.” (KJV, public domain)

Even all of creation knows patience has its deserved reward when we trust in God.

 

About the Gardener/Author:

Ever since her grandfather co-created Twinkies, Snowballs & Hostess cupcakes for Intercontinental Baking Company, circa 1955, Jenna Victoria has yet to taste a cake she hasn’t liked. Jenna writes for readers who enjoy sweet & compelling romances, and also for those who enjoy her “fiction that feeds your faith” titles – happily-ever-after romance & romantic suspense stories with a Christian world view. Her stories emulate those she prefers reading…ones that feature satisfying fairy-tale-endings. Her clean romances won’t put you into a diabetic coma, and her faith-based romances aren’t preachy or unrealistic. It is her glad purpose to glorify God and His sacrificial love through His Son, Jesus Christ through books that illustrate hope & peace in unbearable situations. Her first triple negative breast cancer diagnosis in 2012 has led to surgeries, radiation, reoccurrences and incurable metastasis. Still, Jenna continues to praise God and trust His oversight in her life; and continues to write more books.

Her newest book, Love Among the Lilacs is available from Amazon

Bookkeeper Mollie Wright knows about living on the streets, and her purchase of  Lilac Cottage is a dream come true. She is determined to stay and fight when a legal error puts her ownership at risk.

Attorney Sean Grady never wanted his great-aunts to sell their cottage in Westchester County, New York, so when a paperwork snafu puts the deal on hold, he moves swiftly to evict the pretty, feisty squatter. Mollie finds unexpected allies in Grady Cove neighbors and a member of Sean’s own family but knows the clock is ticking.

Will a theft and her past secrets force a  showdown to heartache, or will Mollie and Sean discover home is truly where your heart is?

Jenna Victoria

Fiction that Feeds Your Faith

 

 

 

 

 

 

