Tags

, , , , , ,

Lavender Fields in Washington State

lavender-2

I must confess, though I dearly love gardens and especially flowers such as tulips and lavender, my faithful and resourceful husband does the planting and caring for our yard. Every spring I can’t resist filling our home with pink and red tulips, yellow daffodils, and purple crocus. In the fall, orange and gold chrysanthemums find their way into my kitchen.

My all-time favorite is the lavender plant. When we lived in Washington state, I visited many a lavender farm, savoring the magnificent sight of rows and rows of the bluish, purple plants gracing the fields, depending on the variety, from late June through August.

One of my favorite places to visit was Sequim on the Olympic Peninsula. The delightful community is said to have the perfect climate for growing lavender so the area is known as the North American capital of lavender production. Thus Washingtonians are blessed with the availability of lavender products.

One of my favorite markets was The Olympia Farmers Market located in the capital city. We used to frequent the outdoor marketplace almost every week. I bought lavender plants for my yard, but my favorite purchases were the sachets, the soaps, essential oils, the lotions, the body mists, oh I could go on and on. Since we didn’t have a cat, I didn’t invest in a kitty toy filled with catnip made from lavender. But I invested in the lavender teas and brewed a cup when the weather turned cold and rainy in the fall.

So when I read Lovely Christian Romance Press’s call for novellas featuring an inn named after a flower, I knew I had to write a story called Lavender Fields Inn, a fun romance with a twist. Look for the collection of novellas all centered around floral inns due out in March, 2017.

Though we don’t live in Washington state any more, I continue to enjoy the glorious products available from the amazing herb God provides—the lavender plant.

 

About the Author:

I’m not a master gardener, but I love digging in the dirt along with my husband, June Fosterplanting seeds or bulbs, and witnessing God’s glorious flowers spring up the next year. At least two outdoor pots are situated in our flower beds every year, bringing color to our home.

When not poking in my garden, I write inspirational romance. I love to tell stories where characters overcome the struggles in their lives through God’s power and His word. Though my contemporary romances deal with edgy topics, I’m respectful of the Christian reader. My books never include graphic material, thus the heat level is low. Find June and her books on the internet at junefoster.com.

Christmas in Raccoon Creek, available September 1 from Lovely Christmas at Racoon Creek (Snow Globe Christmas Collection)Christian Romance, is a light, inspirational novella a Christian mom would encourage her teenage daughter to read—and enjoy herself.

Can love span the fifty-year gap standing between them? To read more about the book click here.

 

