Tags

, , , , ,

Bees, Pleeze

 

Every gardener has a wealth of information they use to grow their flowers and crops, and most of the time that varies with where everyone lives and gardens. But one thing that is universal is that in order to have fruits and vegetables and flowers, bees need to do their bee thing and pollinate all the flowers. Where I live the bees are in crisis.
I’m trying to grow some blueberries, and as expected, my bushes are not overflowing with berries like they have been in previous years. But my small bush in the middle of the three is recovering nicely, so I’m very happy for that.
IMG_1849

As well, even though I need to search for them, I have some lovely strawberries, too. With all the rain we’ve had, and then a blast of heat, my strawberries are great and many are ready to eat.IMG_1851

We completely cut back our crabapple tree this spring, and it’s now the thickest and bushiest it’s ever been. There are very few crabapples on it, which isn’t necessarily bad, because I still have lots in the freezer from last year.

IMG_1848

Although I suspect that if we had a more healthy bee population, there would be more crabapples on my tree. I bought a handy little thing to help the bees, barely over $20. It’s not a hive, so I don’t have to interact with the bees, nor do I need to get any honey out. The instructions say to just nail it to the fence or something, and it is a place for bees to lay eggs, and then it keeps the eggs safe until the bees come out, and go make a new home.

IMG_1850

solitary pollen bee nest

As you can see it’s not very big, and will not ruin your gardenscape. In fact, it makes an interesting conversation piece! If you’re interested, here’s a link to where I bought mine. http://www.leevalley.com/en/garden/page.aspx?p=70416&cat=2%2C47236 Happy gardening, and help the bees, because without them, you wouldn’t have a garden.

Go Garden!

About the Author:

GE Jazz Apr 2016Last year I had a photo of myself holding a tomato plant at the end of my article, but this year I thought I’d post something more fun, which is a photo of me with my jazz band after a gig we did for a fundraiser in a local mall. I’m the one with the bunny ears.

Gail Sattler lives in Vancouver BC Canada, where you don’t have to shovel rain, with her husband, sons, dogs, and a guinea pig who helps mow the grass on a sunny day. Gail enjoys gardening, writing, and music, and the order of that depends how hard it’s raining on the west coast. See Gail’s newest book – Love in Mistletoe Springs. You’re invited to visit Gail’s website at http://www.gailsattler.com/ Serious comedy – no kidding!

