Tags

, , ,

1004660_10200572040926960_65991544_n

Packing Up My Garden

by Christine Lindsay

Who says you can’t pack up your garden and take it with you when you move? This writer for one, would not be much of a writer if I weren’t a gardener too. These are some of my flowering shrubs from the past 5 years in my current townhouse.

Fushi Bush

Fushi Bush

 

So when we decided to move this summer I planned a systematic withdrawal as good as any military general would plan if removing troops and equipment that had hunkered down for several years in alien territory, and was now on its way home.

Certain shrubs such as my climbing clematis, I have no choice but to leave. Besides, they make a nice selling point to the backyard. I’ll miss these old friends, but I’ll buy their kissing cousins and plant them in my new house.

However, there is no way I’m going to leave behind my roses. It’s going to be a bit rough for them this summer but I carefully dug them up and planted them in temporary large pots for the move.

You see, each perennial shrub in my yard has a special meaning for me. Each plant has either been given to me by a loved one or dear friend, or they remind me of loved ones long gone. For example:

The rambling pink rose (which I have to leave behind) reminds me of my Great-Aunt Maggie’s farm in Ireland which just happens to be featured in my contemporary romance Londonderry Dreaming.

roses outside bedroom

The peonies are for my Great-Uncle Andrew (Aunt Maggie’s brother) because he taught me the most about gardening when I was a child growing up in Ontario where Uncle Andrew had immigrated to from Ireland.

For my grandmother I planted a Queen Elizabeth rose, and the orange lilies are for my grandfather. These particular flowers aren’t necessarily featured in my books, but the personalities of my grandparents are in my novels such as the new release Sofis’ Bridge which features an Irish hero.

I could go on and on about the flowers in my garden and who they remind me of when I’m out in the yard digging and planting. But if you read any of my novels you will soon realize how much I love setting and how it affects our five scenes, especially fragrance. This is so evident in my historical trilogy Twilight of the British Raj, books: Shadowed in Silk, Captured by Moonlight, and Veiled at Midnight.

Here is a short excerpt from Shadowed in Silk set in Colonial British India that shows my love of gardening and some of the plants that are in my own garden.

“Shade trees bordered the wide avenues of the British civil lines. Manicured lawns fronted the colonnaded government buildings, and gardens laid out geometrically were splashed with yellow canna lilies and pink and orange zinnias. Geoff could never feel at home again, here in this cordoned off area of the British Empire, but his laugh joined Abby’s and that of her son when their rickshaw pulled up to a house shaded by a peepul tree. A deep verandah surrounded Abby’s home where flowering shrubs blurred the edges. The gardener, clothed in a white cotton dhoti and long shirt below his knees, watered plants and sprinkled the pathway to keep the dust down. The scent of roses, jasmine, and the pleasant odor of damp dust filled Geoff’s senses.”

All my shrubs are in their “moving” planters, set to go. That is as soon as I sell this house and find another one to live in. One with lots and lots and lots of gardening space.

 

 

About the Author:

ChristineLindsayChristine Lindsay is the author of multi-award-winning Christian fiction with complex emotional and psychological truth, who always promises a happy ending. Tales of her Irish ancestors who served in the British Cavalry in Colonial India inspired her multi-award-winning series Twilight of the British Raj, Book 1 Shadowed in Silk, Book 2 Captured by Moonlight, and explosive finale Veiled at Midnight.

Christine’s Irish wit and use of setting as a character is evident in her contemporary romance Londonderry Dreaming and newest release Sofi’s Bridge.

A busy writer and speaker, Christine, and her husband live on the west coast of Canada. Coming August 2016 is the release of her non-fiction book Finding Sarah—Finding Me: A Birthmother’s Story.

My booksDrop by Christine’s Book page on her website to read the first chapters of all her books, including her brand new release Sofi’s Bridge set in the Cascade Mountains of Washington State.

 

 

