Tags

, , , , , ,

PursuedFrontFinal

 

Today I’m welcoming Christian author Elaine Manders to the blog. Elaine is a historical fiction author and fellow blogger from the group blog, Stitches Thru Time, in which I participate. Elaine will be sharing her Story Behind the Story of her newest release Pursued,  Book 1, Intrigue Under Western Skies, a Christin Historical Fiction with strong elements of romance and suspense. Two of my favorite things!

Story behind the Story

Pursued, Book 1, Intrigue Under Western Skies

 

In the fall of 2011, after I finished reading Jeannette Oke’s Love Comes Softly series, I decided to renew my writing career after a ten-year hiatus and focus on Christian fiction. Taking it to the Lord, I asked if this was God’s will to send me a new story and, if it wouldn’t be too much trouble, make it a western, since I already had two shelves of research books on the subject.

Then I went to play golf with my husband. If you concentrate as little as I do on the game, it leaves plenty of time for meditating.

By the twelfth hole, I had an entire series swirling in my head. From that moment, for over a year, the story of Rhyan and Carianne, the hero and heroine of Pursued, consumed my life, twenty-four, seven. If you’re a writer, you understand.

In a way, it changed my life forever. I became as spiritually confident as Carianne, as willing to speak out against hypocrisy as Rhyan. Their humor even taught me to lighten up. I’m currently editing the second book in the Intrigue under Western Skies series and writing a historical western romance novella that will be published the latter part of March.

So far I’ve written eleven books and published five. The first three are novellas, the Annex Mail-Order Brides, which are prequels to Pursued, the stories about Carianne’s three friends.

I’m still not sure why I was called to write. There are certainly writers more skilled than I am, but the Lord delights in giving incredible tasks to the weakest vessel, doesn’t He?

 

 

Pursued

 

An idealistic librarian and a troubled cattle baron fight wickedness in high places in 1884 Nebraska.

Carianne Barlow never expected to leave her comfortable Philadelphia townhouse and travel to the wild-west, but when she inherits a fortune, conditions are attached. She must carry out her grandmother’s vision of a western culture center anchored by a library to rival those of the east. Such an undertaking requires political support, and no one is more influential than Rhyan Cason, a handsome cattle baron with the reputation of hardened businessman and rabble rousing lobbyist with a preference for the ladies. Carianne gets on the westbound train with no thought of the treacherous world awaiting her in the little prairie town near Rhyan’s sprawling ranch.

When Rhyan asks her to catalog his library, Carianne jumps at the chance without considering the ramifications. She rejects any romantic notions. Rhyan is known to be a heart-breaker, and he is an atheist, which doesn’t set well with her Christian beliefs. But they are thrown together when events take a dangerous turn, and menacing undercurrents run through the town.

Then Carianne learns too late Rhyan is pursued by a sinister enemy determined to destroy everything he cares for, including her.

Want to read more? Check out Pursued, by Elaine Manders here.

 

About The Author

photo 3 (1)Elaine Manders writes about the strong, capable women from history and the men who love them. Her stories are loaded with romance, suspense, faith, and a dash of humor. Besides writing, she enjoys reading, sewing, and crochet. She lives in Central Georgia with her husband, Robert, and a happy bichon-poodle mix.

Connect with Elaine at  Facebook: Twitter: Blog:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

