Tags

, , , ,

Christmas_Angel._covToday Wednesday Writers welcomes Mary L. Ball to the blog. She’s talking country Christmas traditions today, which fits right into the setting of her Christmas book, Christmas Angel Ranch.

Don’t you just love this cover? I’m a city girl, but flights of fancy about Christmas in the country, all snug in a pine-bough-festooned log cabin with a big roaring fire, make me want to move right into the cabin on this cover. But enough from me. Let’s see what Mary has in store for us today.

 

Country Traditions in the City

by Mary L. Ball

Hubby and I live in the city in a small town in North Carolina. But we’re country folks at heart. Both of us spent the biggest majority of our childhood growing up in a rural area.

I’d probably never give up living within the city limits. I enjoy the convenience of being close to shopping, ongoing activities and modern amenities, but the country girl in me will never go away. I enjoy fishing, hiking, and nature. I’ve had my taste of fancy parties and uptown restaurants, but the simple and rustic things in life are closest to my heart. Log cabins, the natural beauty of the woods, the lakes, and outdoors.

At Christmas time, I like to keep it country. I enjoy a tree with bows, garland, and angels in gold, burgundy, and greens. Handmade bamboo baskets filled pinecones, ribbons, few colorful cranberries, and a string of lights set the festive atmosphere that makes me smile.

The holiday season at our house is filled with the celebration of Jesus and His birth. We enjoy our grandchildren, planning our church’s holiday celebration and entertaining through our music ministry at various churches and rehabilitation facilities. Somewhere among all the festivities and caroling hubby always hunts. My son-in law is also a hunter. It’s became a tradition of sorts for the family. We eat venison and I have it processed into burger, steaks, and sausage to use in our recipes. I’ve found that you can add venison to any meal preparation that calls for beef. It tastes just as good, and deer has less fat than other meats.

That reminds me of my novel, Christmas at Angel Ranch. It’s the only book I’ve written that I haven’t needed to research. Having spent lots of time in the North Carolina Mountains, I’m very familiar with Boone. That’s where Angel Ranch, the fictionist hunting lodge is located. The main character is Kayla, and her love interest is Reed Jessup, an avid hunter of whitetail deer. Finally, all my years of  listening to hubby’s tales about his adventures came in handy. 🙂

Hunting is a controversial topic, but I look back and recall the days of our ancestors. Times before the grocery stores supplied processed meat. Someone has to forge the woods to keep our generations going.

This Christmas as always, I’ll enjoy a small part of the rustic traditions in my city world. Venison roast, and keeping watch for the Eastern star, which is the reason for the season.

Merry Christmas to all.

 

Christmas Angel Ranch

By Mary L. Ball

Kayla is a home designer for a well-known company, or was, until a police raid proves the decorating company is laundering money. The investigation shows her innocence, but she’s without a job and no prospects for employment.

To get away from the dishonesty surrounding her, Kayla returns home to the mountains of North Carolina to help with the family business until the New Year.

Angel Ranch is a hunting lodge that caters to elite hunters, and Reed Jessup is ready to trade in his corner office for a few weeks of R&R. He arrives with his rifle and a trophy buck on his mind.

When Kayla and Reed meet, two mistrusting hearts collide. Can love prevail, or will it take a Christmas miracle?

Want to read more about Christmas Angel Ranch? You can find Mary’s book at Amazon

for adAbout the Author

Mary L. Ball is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. She lives in North Carolina and writes about real-life problems, blended with romance or mystery.

Her novels include, Escape to Big Fork Lake, Stone of Destiny, Postmarked Ever After, Christmas at Angel Ranch and Redemption in Big Fork Lake.  She is also a contributing author of 21 Stories of Faith. Mary’s books are available at online retailers.

When she’s not working on her latest story, Mary enjoys fishing, reading, and singing with her husband at church functions.

Readers can connect with her on Face Book and Twitter.

Watch for her new release, Sparks of Love tentatively scheduled for summer 2016.

 

 

 

 

 

