Tags

, , , , , ,

Island Christmas meme 2

Today Kimberly Rose Johnson is visiting Home for the Holidays.  She’s going to share a couple of holiday traditions. Can you guess from her newly released inspirational Christmas romance book cover, pictured above, what might be her favorite Christmas tradition? I’ll give you a hint–it’s not the snow.

The time between Thanksgiving and Christmas is my favorite. I don’t have a lot of traditions, but one thing we always do is have Thanksgiving meal as an extended family. My family, my parents, and my sister’s family all get together at either my house or my parents’ for Thanksgiving. We all live close, so it’s potluck style. We all know what the other person is bringing, so we have the meal taken care of.

Our biggest tradition on this day, besides our turkey dinner, is eating way too many homemade cookies. My sister and I usually go a little nuts baking.  This year will be a lot different though. I can no longer have gluten, so if I bake any cookies they will have to be gluten free. I’ve not yet mastered the art of baking gluten free, so I don’t expect to be eating cookies this year.

My mom always kicks off the Christmas season at the end of the evening by handing out Christmas ornaments. This has been a tradition ever since her mother passed away twenty some years ago. My grandma used to give me an ornament every year and now my mom does. J

My dad has had a Christmas tree lot, or sold trees from his farm every year my entire adult life. My kids grew up “working” at the tree lot on weekends with their papa and daddy. They loved it, until my youngest and my husband developed an allergy to Christmas trees. Now they stay away from the lot and we have a fake tree.

I can’t imagine not having a Christmas tree, so I am very thankful that the fake trees now look so real. In my book Island Christmas, Rachel Narrelli’s three-year-old son, Jason, is anxious to put up a tree, but life keeps getting in the way. LOL Being married to a very busy Christmas tree farmer, my mom can certainly relate to that. J

I think the Christmas tree is my favorite decoration. I’ve been known to put mine up the night of Thanksgiving or the following morning. I think I may have put it up a little sooner than Thanksgiving last year. LOL My oldest son informed me that I must wait for him to come home at Thanksgiving, so he can help with the tree. J

Our final tradition comes Christmas morning when we all gather at my parents’ home and gather around the tree. My dad reads the Christmas story from the Bible. He started this tradition when my boys were little. It was hard for them to sit there, so I found a very cool Children’s book that told the story. They enjoyed hearing the story much more when there were pictures to look at.

 

KJ_063About the Author:

Kimberly Rose Johnson lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband of twenty-five years. She writes inspirational romance and loves to read anything Christian that has a romance thread. Kimberly enjoys long walks with her husband their yellow lab, as well as copious amounts of dark chocolate. If you would like to learn more about Kimberly you may find her at http://kimberlyrjohnson.com/ .

