Tags

, , , , ,

Dancing in the Athenian Rain600x912Today Wednesday Writers Welcomes Katie Hamstead. Katie, please tell the readers about the book that is being showcased today.

Dancing in the Athenian Rain was originally the first full length novel I wrote. I was a 12th grader, and pieced it together while studying Athens… and during exams because I’m easily distracted. It’s developed significantly since then, but the raw base of the story remains the same; an 18 year old girl who’s been pretty down trodden gets a second chance in the most unlikely place; the home of a Classical Athenian soldier.

Sounds interesting. How did you come up with the concept for this book?

Fantasizing in Ancient History class! Not much more to it than that…

What are you working on now? Do you have a release date for this book?

Currently I’m working on a few things, but my biggest project is a seven book series that’s a futuristic fairytale spin. I have the first two books written, and the rest are in various stages. Piecing it together is interesting, as each story is independent of the others, but also entwined.

Do you write in more than one genre? If so, why?

I do. I write whatever comes to me. Usually I have strong female leads, and write new adult, but the genre jumps around to whatever talks to me. As long as the characters “sing” I’ll write it.

I’m a total non-techy when it come to computers and social media and have experienced a number of flubs, including wiped out discs, crashed computer drives where I lost 50 pages I’d just written, improper blog setups that caused me to lose my web name address. What’s the worst technical difficulty or disaster you’ve ever had as a writer?

I bought myself this beautiful laptop. Touch screen, large hard drive, all the bells and whistles. Then, one day I knocked over a cup of water beside it. All it took was a drop to get inside and it fried my mother board. I CRIED for a week over it. Thankfully we were able to recover my data from the hard drive so I didn’t lose anything… except my beautiful computer I’d bought from my saved up book royalties!

Ooh. I’m cringing as I read this. The mother board just got fried on my laptop and I’m fighting with a new computer now. I feel your pain.

Character names are important in writing. How do you choose your character’s name?

I do a combination of things. First, I pick a culture to derive the name from, then I’ll pick a general meaning of the name and finally, it has to sound nice and suit the character. I really love naming characters.

Setting is also important in books. Do you do anything special to create yours, like visiting the area, googling satellite maps, looking at books or pictures?

A fair few of my settings are where I grew up, or I’ve lived for a while. Although, my historical books there’s a lot of research goes into the settings, especially since they’ve changed over the centuries.

How have your reading (and writing) tastes evolved over the years? Do you still read the same genre of books you did as a teenager?

I read a lot more than what I did as a teenager. I think the compulsory readings bothered me enough to put me off picking out my own books. I hated being forced to read things like 1984. Why couldn’t I read Jane Austin? I didn’t mind Shakespeare though, but I was pretty alone on that one.

When I did pick my own books, they are still pretty similar to what I read now. I like books with romance, but also an interesting plot and great characters.

What’s the book you are reading now?

I am currently reading The Charge by Sharon Bayliss. I love this woman’s writing, and kept up with the December People, so needed to get onto her debut while waiting for book 3.

I love going to the movies. Do you? If so, what was the most recent movie you’ve seen?

I love going too! Unfortunately with small children, I don’t get to go as much as I’ like to anymore. The last movie I saw was Jurassic World. I am a Jurassic Park fanatic, so missing that as NOT an option. I loved it!

We saw that, but not in 3-D. Great movie. What about the small screen? What’s your favorite television show currently running? Favorite show of all time?

Currently running, I’ve been trying to keep up with Arrow and The Flash. Apparently now I also need to get onto Supergirl! But one of my all-time favorites is M*A*S*H. It’s an oldie, but a goodie. In 6th grade we were studying Asia, and I was the only one to pick Korea, and was inspired by this show! Haha!

I love those shows, too!

I also love traveling. What is the farthest place from your home that you have visited? I used to live in Australia (Sydney) and after high school came to the USA as an exchange student. Now I live here, but it’s still a long trip between the two.

It’s been a pleasure having you here today. As you say goodbye, can you leave the readers with an encapsulation of your life’s philosophy? (a quote, a Bible verse, a precept you live by or have tried to instill in your children?)

Proverbs 31:10 and 30

“Who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubies…

Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the Lord, she shall be praised.”

There’s a whole lot of good stuff in between, but those verses are what I live by.

Thanks for being with us today.

Dancing in the Athenian Rain 

by Katie Hamstead

When Donna is sent back in time to Classical Athens, she’s furious at Dr. Stephens for sending her against her wishes. Then a Greek soldier purchases her to be his wife. She’s forced to learn a new language and culture, and faces her fears of never returning to her own time. The society hates her, especially because they think she’s an Amazon, which forces her to confront her issues—being compared to her genius brother, borderline abusive friends, and a cheating boyfriend. But her husband, Peleus, is kind and patient. Although against her best judgment, she allows him into her heart. He counters all the negative voices from her past, but those voices drive a wedge between them. She must let go of her fears, her inhibitions, and insecurities, and admit her feelings, or she could lose him and the life they’ve built.

Goodreads

 

katie-teller-author-photo-2-3About the Author:

Born and raised in Australia, Katie’s early years of day dreaming in the “bush”, and having her father tell her wild bedtime stories, inspired her passion for writing. After graduating High School, she became a foreign exchange student where she met a young man who several years later she married. Now she lives in Arizona with her husband, daughter and their dog. She has a diploma in travel and tourism which helps inspire her writing. She currently works as an Acquisitions Editor with Curiosity Quills Press to help support her family. Katie loves to out sing her friends and family, play sports and be a good wife and mother. She loves to write, and takes the few spare moments in her day to work on her novels.

Blog  Facebook  Twitter  Tumblr  Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

