Tags

, , , , , ,

 

My Journey with Gardening

Gardening must be a hereditary condition, passed down through the years and the withered, calloused hands. My grandmother planted beds of snap peas, strawberries, potatoes and carrots, and her massive pots of geraniums were the envy of her neighbours along the Sunshine Coast in British Columbia, where she lived.

It’s no small wonder that I inherited a love of the earth. The activity of gardening provides me with a deep connection to nature and once the flowers begin to bloom, and the lawn is lush and green, I can sit and relax.

My previous garden was a Garden of Eden. I had 1/4 of an acre at my fingertips, and I wasted no time removing ground cover (lemon grass), landscaping trails with pea gravel and filling garden beds with lavender, azalea and rhododendron bushes. At one point, I happened upon a nearly dead wisteria vine that I patiently resurrected. Then we moved to a new city, and I had to leave my beautiful garden behind.

garden1

My new garden, on a much smaller scale, is in a different climate zone. The air is drier here, and in summer markedly hotter than the coastal region, and gardens must be equipped with irrigation. I will be spending this summer installing cedar trees and bushes of Russian Sage. But nothing will ever compare to the fairytale garden I recently left behind.

garden2

 

 

bio picAbout the Author:

Gardener/writer Kim Hotzon has been gardening since she nurtured her first plant from a tiny seed into a flowering vine in her Grade 5 science class. Her favorite thing about gardening is connecting with nature, tending her plants into thriving bushes and trees, and enjoying the rewards of a colorful, life-filled oasis in her yard. When she’s not gardening, she’s writing sweet and sensual contemporary romance. You can learn more about her at http://kimhotzon.com/

 

