Tags

, , , , , , ,

Gardens of Memories

Digging in fresh tilled dirt. Watching seedlings pop up through the soil in neat rows. Pulling weeds. Picking the first ripe strawberry or tomato or cucumber. I absolutely LOVE to plant and tend to my vegetable garden and I’ll tell you all about my veggies in September right here in A Writer’s Garden.

crocus april 1 2014

crocus

 

Today I want to share pictures of flowers. I love all kinds of flowers from spring bulbs to fall asters. Here are a few pictures I snapped of my favorites.

 

forget me nots

Forget me nots

 

 

butterfly bush

Butterfly bush

I was blessed to have two grandmothers who influenced me to garden and they gave me many of the flowers I have today. As a child I tagged along while they weeded, picked, divided, and replanted their flowers. My Grandma P. (1919-2004) had a huge vegetable garden and flower beds all around her house. She once told me that weeding the vegetable garden was work, but weeding her flowers was a joy.

Grandma P. Blue iris

Here is one of her favorite blue irises blooming in my flower bed 2015.

My Grandma M. (1917-2014) also had a huge veggie garden and flowers all around her house. She once told me that the best way to learn how to do something is to just do it. Even if it means you mess up a bunch of times.

grandma's white iris

 

 

Here are pictures of her white irises in my flowerbeds 2015. This is the first spring since her passing.

 

 

 

 

I have never before seen these irises bloom in such beauty and abundance.

Grandma's iris

To me, flowers are amazing, comforting, and beautiful. Just like the people who gave them to me.

What flowers do you have from a friend or relative? What memories come to mind when you see them bloom? Thanks Catherine for having me here today!

 

5a

 

Gardener/writer Anne B. Cole has been gardening in three different states over the past thirty years. Her favorite thing about gardening is watching flowers and plants grow and thrive. When she’s not gardening she’s writing adventure/time travel/sweet romantic suspense. You can learn more about her at www.annebcole.com

 

