Tags

, , ,

PinchFrontDropToday Wednesday Writers welcomes back Elizabeth Maddrey. Elizabeth is going to be talking about the setting for an important scene in her book A Pinch of Promise. As authors we all know how important setting can be. So, Elizabeth, please tell us about the special date place for your hero and heroine.

Since I live in the D.C. area and typically set my books in this area as well, I don’t tend to do a ton of setting research. But I wanted somewhere unique for Ben and Rebecca in my June release, A Pinch of Promise, to go on a date for this book and I felt like I needed to steer away from Old Town Alexandria, Virginia (because it keeps cropping up in my books. I love Old Town – should you ever get out to D.C. to visit, I highly recommend scooting down Old Town way, you can take the metro and spend an afternoon.)

As it happens, while I was in the throes of figuring out where to send them, my aunt and a cousin came out to visit and I was in charge of getting them back to the airport. We spent the day at Mount Vernon (George Washington’s home) before heading up the George Washington Parkway to Reagan National Airport for their flight. And as we drove, I spotted several lovely pull offs, right on the Potomac River. They would certainly make for good picnicking – I’d been there myself as a teenager for just such excursions. But still…the road was so close and it was, effectively, just a stretch of grass by the water.

When we pulled off the parkway to get to the airport, we passed Gravelly Point just as a plane was coming in for a landing. My husband, son, and I had gone on a bike ride up the path that follows the GW Parkway and spent a fun hour at Gravelly Point watching the planes before we headed back, but I hadn’t thought of that for quite a while. Seeing it again, with a plane coming in at that, I knew. What a fun place to go picnic! It’s unique (though lots of folks around here will go and hang out there to watch the planes, so it’s not deserted) and it’d be a memorable evening.

And so, Ben and Rebecca do end up there and it’s a turning point for them. I’m happy with the choice and I hope that readers will be. Here’s a photo of Gravelly Point from Wikimedia Commons (By Ted Eytan (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons) – don’t you think it’s lovely?

Gravelly_Point_Park_34510

A Pinch of Promise

He never forgot his first love.

In the ten years since Ben Taylor last saw Marie, no other woman has measured up. After he meets Rebecca Fisher, the physical therapist rehabilitating his knee, Ben is convinced that she is the same woman he fell in love with so many years ago. She denies it at first, but his persistence causes her to admit the truth. Right before she pushes him away.

To escape a painful negative image created by her father, Rebecca Fischer has constructed an identity completely separate from her past. Seeing Ben, her long-lost love, threatens to shatter her intricate illusions. As Ben digs to uncover the truth of who she is, Rebecca must decide if she will trust any man with her wounded heart.

But even if Ben can convince her to admit the truth, how will he be able to trust her love?
Available from Amazon

 About the Author

ElizabethMaddreyHeadshotElizabeth Maddrey began writing stories as soon as she could form the letters properly and has never looked back. Though her practical nature and love of math and organization steered her into computer science for college and graduate school, she has always had one or more stories in progress to occupy her free time. When she isn’t writing, Elizabeth is a voracious consumer of books and has mastered the art of reading while undertaking just about any other activity. She loves to write about Christians who struggle through their lives, dealing with sin and receiving God’s grace.

Elizabeth lives in the suburbs of Washington D.C. with her husband and their two incredibly active little boys. She invites you to interact with her at her website www.ElizabethMaddrey.com or on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ElizabethMaddrey

Social Media:

Website Facebook  Twitter @elizabethmaddrey  Pinterest Google+

Want to read other posts by Elizabeth? Click here for an interview and here for another post by Elizabeth

