Tags

,

A couple across the row from us were loading groceries into their vehicle in our local Kroger’s parking lot at 6 p.m. January 2nd and we overheard this:

“Well, we’ve already broken our New Year’s resolution about pop and junk food.”

I glanced over in time to see the gentleman loading several cases of soda into the back seat. Their resolution lasted about 30 hours. I wouldn’t call that the fastest breaking time for the dissolution of a resolution, but it ranks close to the top.

This is one of the reasons I don’t do New Year’s resolutions. I break them almost as fast as the couple at Krogers. Sure, I’d like to have the resolve to exercise daily, not eat anything bad for me—ever, clean the house weekly, empty the dishwasher as soon as it stops, do the laundry before it piles up as tall as me, save up a million dollars, clean out the closets and the medicine cabinets, lose weight until I’m back at my high school weight, give up chocolate, finish all those UFO crafts floating around in the basement, clean the old stuff out of the file drawers (some is so old the paper has yellowed.) Heck, the hubby wants me to turn it ALL into digital files. Like I can find the time to do that! And I haven’t even mentioned the writing things that need to be done.

Even if I’d call my resolutions goals, which I have done in the past, I’d still have a list of them. And that list goes on and on.

Trust me. I know about lists. I’m a master list maker and have carried to-do-items from one list to another until I’ve decided I’m never going to accomplish them. Even then it’s with great agony that I take them off the list, because I’m sure I’ll get around to it … sometime.

I plan to. I want to … but I usually don’t.

It’s no wonder we break resolutions as fast as we can make them. The stuff we need to do and want to do can be overwhelming.

Maybe this year I should follow the example of the Babylonians, who were the first to make resolutions, which mainly consisted of returning borrowed items, like farm implements, and paying their debts.

I’m already halfway there. I haven’t borrowed a single farm or garden implement from anyone, and we are relatively debt-free.

Now if could just find the time to round up all those books I’ve ever borrowed, and remember who I borrowed them from, I’d be in great shape.

 

What about you? Do you have any New Year resolutions, goals, hopes, or plans?

 

