Tags

, , , , , ,

ShiftingGearsShifting Gears, by Sarah Kohnle, is a women’s fiction novel about a newly widowed, sedentary housewife and her journey from grieving widow to a confident woman … and she does it traveling with her uncooperative teenage son on a cross-country bike ride.

I have to admit I didn’t like the heroine much at the beginning of the story, but as I watched her grow, my feelings about her changed. I kept rooting for her with every little step she made from a depressed woman to a stronger one. Seeing her blossom from a dependent, uncertain woman into someone I knew would be able to make her own way was an interesting journey.

 

I especially enjoyed the secondary characters in the book: the crazy aunt, the Jamaican bike dude, the hippie minister. And speaking of ministers, this is a book that not only speaks about her physical and emotional journey but also her faith journey. At no time in the book did I feel like the author was preaching to me. The faith elements were organic and woven in such a manner that a non-Christian might enjoy the book, too.

This book is well-written with the exception of some bumpy chapter transitions and a few short scenes that made me wonder why they were there. I also loved the double meaning of this title. I don’t know if the author planned that, but I think it worked very well.

Overall, I enjoyed this book, and I would definitely pick up another story by this author.

4 stars for Shifting Gears.

Want to know more about the author? Check out her Wednesday Writers post.

 

I was given a copy of this book for an honest review.

 

 

 

 

