Tags

, , , , ,

A garden bench, a place to rest in the sunshine Today Wednesday Writers is welcoming Elizabeth Maddrey author of Love Defined. Elizabeth, please tell the readers about the book you are showcasing today.

Love Defined is the final book in the Remnants Trilogy (following Faith Departed and Hope Deferred). This series follows twin sisters who, along with their husbands, have been struggling through the process of starting a family. In Love Defined, we see the sisters come to terms with the changes they must make in their vision of happily ever after.

How did you come up with the concept for this book?

My husband and I dealt with infertility for thirteen years. I never intended to write about it, honestly, but I got a tiny spark of an idea that wouldn’t leave me alone. After talking to my editor about it, I gave it some serious attention and the series was born.

What are you working on now? Do you have a release date for this book?

I’m so excited to be back in romance-land now! I’m working on a contemporary romance series that tangentially ties into my first romance trilogy. Jackson Trent, the hero, will be familiar to those who read the Grant Us Grace series. Though he was very much a walk-on in those books, he kept clamoring for his own book and I’m excited to share his story in A Splash of Substance. Scheduled for release in March of 2015.

Are you a panster or a plotter? Linear or non-linear writer?

I’m a panster. I want to be a plotter—desperately—but it just doesn’t work for me. But I am absolutely a linear writer. I have friends who talk about writing this scene then skipping to the end and writing that, then back to another point and it makes my head spin!

Are you a fast writer or a slow writer? What’s the most number of pages or words you’ve ever written in a day? The average number per writing session?

This is a funny question because I never considered myself particularly fast until I was talking to another group of writers. They were adamant that I’m fast. If I can get a solid day to write (this is very rare as it involves my hubby watching the kids and me being able to push aside the guilt that he’s doing that for me), I can typically kick out 12,000 words in about 9 hours. A more typical day sees me with two-ish hours of writing time and, generally, that equates to around 3,500 words.

How have your reading (and writing) tastes evolved over the years? Do you still read the same genre of books you did as a teenager?

I’ve always loved a broad spectrum of genres, so I guess my tastes haven’t evolved very much. I still read all the same things I read as a teenager—sometimes even going back and re-reading the actual same books I fell in love with as a teen.

What’s the first book you ever remember reading as a child?

Ant and Bee. It’s a fun little book with pictures and pretty easy text that’s good for emerging readers. Nana, my sister, and I used to sit on the daybed in the guest room and read it together.

How often do you read non-fiction?

I’m terrible about reading non-fiction, so it’s something I have to make a concerted effort to do. I have a goal to read at least five non-fiction books a year. Since I generally read around 130 books a year, that’s not a huge percentage, but…I’m a work in progress.

Let’s get personal now. Do you have a day job? If so, what is it?

I have the best day job – mom. I’m really blessed that we’re able for me to stay home and take care of our two boys. We’re also homeschooling, so I get to do that, as well. It eats into my writing time some days, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

I love going to the movies. Do you? If so, what was the most recent movie you’ve seen?

I love movies. I don’t always love the theater (I’m spoiled because we have a theater in our basement, so most of the time it’s worth waiting rather than splurging for the theater experience.) That said, I just went to see The Maze Runner with some friends. I was the only one who’d read it, but I think we all enjoyed it (and really, it was reasonably true to the book, which is always nice.)

Do you like reality shows? If so, what’s your favorite one?

For the longest time, I would say no and feel very superior. But now…I’ve gotten sucked in. I adore The Amazing Race. Even though it’s starting to feel a little “same old, same old,” I love seeing all the places they go and the challenges they have to do. My husband and I also enjoy shaking our heads at the people who don’t learn to drive a stick and swim before trying out for the show!

It’s been a pleasure having you here today. As you say goodbye, can you leave the readers with an encapsulation of your life’s philosophy?

I can be a bit of a negative Nelly if I let myself (and I’m absolutely my own worst critic). Because of this, I work hard to focus on Philippians 4:8, “ Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

 

ElizabethMaddreyHeadshot

About the Author:

Elizabeth Maddrey began writing stories as soon as she could form the letters properly and has never looked back. Though her practical nature and love of math and organization steered her into computer science for college and graduate school, she has always had one or more stories in progress to occupy her free time. When she isn’t writing, Elizabeth is a voracious consumer of books and has mastered the art of reading while undertaking just about any other activity. She loves to write about Christians who struggle through their lives, dealing with sin and receiving God’s grace.

Elizabeth lives in the suburbs of Washington D.C. with her husband and their two incredibly active little boys.

Connect with Elizabeth at www.ElizabethMaddrey.com or on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ElizabethMaddrey

Elizabeth can also be found at

Twitter: @elizabethmaddre

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/emaddrey/

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ElizabethMaddrey/posts

LOVE DEFINED

Dreams Change. Plans Fail.

July and Gareth have reached the end of their infertility treatment options. With conflicting feelings on adoption, they struggle to discover common ground in their marriage.

Meanwhile, July’s twin sister, June, and her husband, Toby, are navigating the uncertainties of adoption and the challenges of new parenthood.

How much stretching can their relationships endure before they snap?

 

EXCERPT

“So I guess that’s it?” Lead settled in July’s stomach and she leaned her head against the back of the passenger seat and closed her eyes.

Gareth’s fingers closed around hers and squeezed.

“I’m not wrong though, am I?” She cracked open an eye and held his gaze.

He shook his head. “No. Probably not.”

She turned and stared out the window as Gareth backed out of the parking spot and pointed the car toward home. Two more miscarriages. This time twins. Five babies she’d never know this side of heaven and none to hold. Even the ever confident-in-his-ability Dr. DiCola couldn’t honestly recommend they try IVF for a third time. “What now?”

“I think we pray about what’s next. There’s no need to jump into anything.”

Flashes of colorful spring blossoms blurred together as they sped around the Beltway toward home. He was probably right…though the ache in her heart screamed for action. Maybe they should go ahead and try a third time anyway. What could it hurt? July opened her mouth to ask then snapped it shut. There were entirely too many ways it could hurt. Another miscarriage topped that list, followed closely by the stress on their marriage. The expense was nothing to sneeze at either. Their insurance covered some of the costs, but not all. And that assumed Dr. DiCola would agree to work with them.

July blew out a breath. “Can I be honest with you?”

Gareth glanced over, brow knitting. “Always.”

“I’m not…I don’t know how to pray about this.” She twisted her fingers in her lap. She’d spent so much time praying for a child that now…what was left to say? God had given her children. Five of them. She just didn’t get to keep them long. Had she not been specific enough in her prayers? Surely God knew she’d meant that she wanted to hold her babies, nurture them…watch them grow to adulthood?

“I haven’t got an easy answer. I…” He sighed and flicked on the turn signal before pulling onto their exit. “Maybe we pray about that first? Ask Him to make His will clear to us. Because I’ll be honest, I thought we were doing what he wanted us to do. I don’t understand why we’re in this situation any more than you do.”

He didn’t have any answers either? How did that work? She always relied on Gareth to be the one who understood when things went wrong. Her heart began to race and she swallowed the bile that tried to inch up her throat. Was this what a panic attack felt like?

“Hey.” Gareth pulled into the driveway and shifted into park. “It’s going to be okay. We’ll figure it out.”

Right. Sure they would.

With a gentle finger, Gareth lifted her chin and held her gaze. “We will. I know it doesn’t seem like it’s possible. And I don’t have any answers, but I have faith.”

She swallowed and offered a short nod. “Okay. You’re right.”

July took a deep breath in through her nose and held it. Her heart rate slowed as she let the air escape.

“That’s my girl.” He leaned over and kissed her. “Come on, let’s go in. You can put your feet up, maybe we’ll find something good on TV.”

 

Want to read more? Go to Amazon at http://smile.amazon.com/Love-Defined-Elizabeth-Maddrey/dp/1938708474/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1413082745&sr=8-1&keywords=love+defined+maddrey

 

