Tags

, , ,

I hope your Thanksgiving was good, and by now you’re probably in full swing toward Christmas preparations. When you get time for a break, consider reading the second book in my 2014 Christmas Reads blog series–A Christmas to Remember by Jenny Hale. I started reading one evening and before I knew it, it was 1:35 a.m. the next day.

The hubby kept saying, “Are you coming to bed?”

“One more chapter,” I replied, and I kept reading. I think I finally crawled under the covers about 3 a.m., and I couldn’t wait to get to the book the next evening.

Jenny has created a sweet romance about a nanny who is ready to give up her job and start her own life looking for a husband and beginning a family before she gets too much older. The hook for this book says it all.

This is a beautiful story about the magic of childhood Christmas memories, the strength of family and falling in love when you least expect it.

Product Details

When the main character, Carrie Blake, sees the house where she is going to be a nanny she’s certain it will be a wonderful Christmas. The house is amazing, her employer handsome, and the children are adorable. But all is not well in the Fletcher household. Adam, a workaholic father, is not connecting with his children, and Carrie makes it her mission to ensure that this father and his adorable twin son and daughter make some Christmas memories. When his family arrives for the holidays she makes it her mission to reconnect him with them, too. She expects resistance from the workaholic man. What she doesn’t expect is … well, it’s a romance. Need I say more?

I loved this book. The children were adorable, the father handsome and successful, and Carrie, with her obsession with self-help books, is a perfect imperfect heroine.

Most romances have a hero/heroine POV. I was halfway through this book before I realized I had only seen the heroine’s POV, yet I knew exactly what the hero was thinking because the author portrayed him through the eyes of the heroine so well. The secondary characters were well-rounded, too.

The only negative thing I can say is sometimes the heroine’s inner thoughts took a meandering path to get to a conclusion, causing me to reread the paragraphs to remember what the original question/subject had been.

If you haven’t discovered Jenny Hale yet, I recommend this Christmas book, A Christmas to Remember, to you. I think you’ll love it, too.

