Yes, I know it’s November and we haven’t yet celebrated Thanksgiving, but once again I’ve been seeking out those Christmas books and loading my Kindle. For the next few weeks I’ll be highlighting the Christmas novels I’ve been reading, along with a review. I never know what surprise each book holds for me, but the one thing I can be sure of is a Christmas theme. And who doesn’t love Christmas?

This week’s book is Christmas Redemption, by Saundra Staats McLemore. Saundra was a recent guest on Wednesday Writers. Follow the link here to read more about her and her book.

Don’t you just love this cover? I do. It made me want to take down my nativity collection, which has been up all year (yes, because I was too lazy to do it earlier) and put up my Christmas village, complete with the ice skating pond and the bookstore I bought the year I sold my first book.

Anyway, enough about my Christmas stuff and on to the books.
ChristmasRedemptionCoverArt

Christmas Redemption

by

Saundra Staats McLemore

A story of redemption, set in the holiday season that redeems us all.

It’s 1967, and three troubled unmarried girls are pregnant. Angry and bitter over their condition, they wind up at Christmas Hotel. Can they find redemption?

The author, Saundra, has tackled a hard subject in the second book of her Christmas Hotel series, Christmas Redemption. Set it in an era where the question of abortion and unmarried pregnant girls was a bigger issue than today, readers will find the characters struggling with some of the same issues girls, and their families, might still face today.

This is a very pro-life book. Saundra has taken the time to make sure she handles this subject with care. The characters that interact with her heroines do so in a loving manner, reminding the girls that God loves them and so do the people around them.

I was taken by the setting of this book, and I wanted to walk beside her characters in the quaint town of Franklin, Kentucky breathing in the crisp winter air. The idea of the Christmas Hotel, where my favorite holiday of the year is celebrated daily, intrigued me. I recognized many things from the book’s era, from the cars to the music mentioned, that took me back to the late 60s. The author did a great job of creating a setting that drew me in.

I love action-oriented stories, which this book is not. This is a character-driven book, with a lot of introspection on the part of the girls who are dealing with traumatic situations. In spite of the fact there isn’t a lot of action, the author still rewarded me with bits of drama that kept the story going.

This book has a lot of scripture in it, which is not one of my favorite things to read in a fiction book. But I liked the fact that the author made sure most of the scripture was tied into scenes where the Bible was read, not quoted in long passages, which I find unnatural. So, kudos for the handling of scripture in this book.

If you know someone considering abortion because of an unplanned pregnancy, or who is not sure of what to do about a pregnancy, or doesn’t believe God still loves them because of what has happened, this might be an excellent book for them to read. It’s a story of redemption, set in the holiday season that redeems us all.

 

 

