Tags

, , , ,

penOxford’s Word of the Year has been announced: it’s vape.When my husband first read the article to me, the first thing that ran through my mind was the word had something to do with vapor, but I wasn’t sure. So, I had him follow the link on his phone to the article. Vape, as a verb, means to inhale and exhale the vapor produced by an electronic cigarette or similar device.

The word was first coined in the late 1980s when companies were experimenting with the first “smokeless” cigarette. According to Oxford, vape, used as a noun, can also refer to an e-cigarette or similar device, I hadn’t heard the word in the 80s, nor have I heard it this year, but then I don’t run in circles with vapers, or smokers. Humm. Did I just coin a new word? Does that now mean I have to ask restaurants if they have non-vaping sections as well as non-smoking sections? Wow! I never knew inhaling could be so complicated.

Anyway, I got intrigued with the Word of the Year, also known as WOTY, and I looked up a few of the losing words up from this year and past years. I chose losing words because I thought they needed some attention, too, and I like odd words anyway. Just to make it interesting for my readers I decided to create a quickie quiz. See if you can figure out the real meaning of the Oxford Word of the Year losers.

 

budtender (n.)

  1. Someone who works at a medical marijuana dispensary or retail marijuana shop.
  2. A rose gardener.
  3. Barkeeper at a microbrewery.

mansplain (v.)

  1. What Ricky Ricardo had to do when he got in trouble with Lucy.
  2. The Venus versus Mars manner in which women try to explain things to men, which often involves double talk on the part of the woman to keep him in the dark.
  3. To explain something to someone, typically a man to woman, in a manner regarded as condescending or patronizing.

cybernat (n.)

  1. An online harasser in a chat room.
  2. A term used to negatively refer to supporters of Scottish independence, especially those who express opinions online.
  3. A no-see-um that bugs your computer when you’re using it outdoors.

dronie (n.)

  1. An old cronie who just keeps yakking on, and on, and on.
  2. A tiny flying drone used to spy on the neighbors.
  3. A selfie taken from a camera attached to a flying drone.

brogrammer (n.)

  1. A portmanteau of bro and programmer, which can describe a computer programmer with typically macho characteristics.
  2. A brotherly relationship between fellow male programmers.
  3. A portmanteau of bro and programmer, which can describe your brainy brother who is a computer programmer.

slacktivist (n.)

  1. A derogatory term for people who don’t engage in any form of activism.
  2. One who engages in digital activism on the Web which is regarded as requiring little time or involvement.
  3. An activist who pretends to be interested in one or another cause to gain some benefit from the action.

Catfish (v.)

  1. A favorite Southern fried fish meal usually served with hushpuppies (the food, not the shoe).
  2. To misrepresent oneself online, especially in a romantic deception.
  3. To hunt feral felines for the purpose of humane neutering.

Dracula sneeze (v.)

  1. A sneeze that results in a bloody discharge.
  2. The newer, gentler name for being bitten by a vampire.
  3. To sneeze into the crook of one’s elbow.

 

Personally, I find these words, and my definitions, to be more fun than the 2014 Oxford’s Word of the Year pick. But then what can I say about someone who reads Mrs. Byrnes Dictionary of Unusual, Obscure, and Preposterous Words for fun, and who found Mary Poppin’s favorite word Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, defined as something you say when you have nothing to say, as one of the most charming words of the 20th century? By the way, this fantastic word, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, was first added to the Oxford English Dictionary in 1986.

During the song, Mary Poppins says, “You know, you can say it backwards, which is ‘dociousaliexpilisticfragicalirupes’, but that’s going a bit too far, don’t you think?”

I don’t. How about you?

 

So, how did you do on the test?

 

Leave me a comment and let me know how you scored and which definitions you liked best. Here are the definition answers: (a,c,b,c,a,c,b,c)

 

