Tags

, , , , ,

Mountain Man coverToday Wednesday Writers is welcoming Misty Beller, author of The Lady and the Mountain Man.

By the way, Misty, I love this cover!

To start today’s interview, please tell the readers about the book that is being showcased today.

Leah Townsend, a recently orphaned heiress, flees Richmond after discovering her fiancé’s plot to kill her after their wedding. She needs a safe place to hide, and finds herself accepting a newspaper marriage proposal from a God-fearing young rancher in the Montana Territory. But when Leah arrives at the mountain ranch, she learns her intended husband was killed by a grizzly, leaving behind a bitter older brother and a spunky younger sister.

When Gideon Bryant finds a city girl standing in his log cabin, his first thought is to send her back where she came from. He’s lost too many people to the wild elements of these mountains––his parents, his wife, and now his brother. His love for this untamed land lives on, but he’s determined not to open his heart to another person.

But when an accident forces Leah to stay at the ranch for seven more months, can Gideon protect his heart from a love he doesn’t want? Has Leah really escaped the men who seek her life?

How did you come up with the concept for this book?

God planted the seed for this story when I was finishing up my first book (which will actually release next year). I was so excited about this one I could hardly wait to finish the other!

I’ve always been fascinated by mountain cabins, secluded in majestic settings. And I love the simpler life, where there’s no rat race. Just hard work, plenty of alone time (can you tell I’m an introvert?), and a strong family unit. I combined so many of these loves into The Lady and the Mountain Man, there are some days I just want to go live with Gideon and Leah!

What are you working on now? Do you have a release date for this book?

I’m just finishing up my third book right now, and working through first-round edits on my second release, which will come from Prism Book Group in 2015. I’ve tentatively titled it The Rancher Takes a Cook. I’m so excited about it! Here’s a glimpse of the back cover copy:

When their home in South Carolina burns to the ground, Anna Stewart has no choice but to move with her 15-year-old brother to the wilds of a Texas ranch. Their prospects begin to look better, until the ranch owner’s son, Jacob O’Brien, shows up with his alarmingly blue eyes to put a kink in Anna’s well-controlled plans. When danger escalates in the form of a band of cattle thieves with deadly intent, can Anna learn to release control to God’s capable hands… and those of the blue-eyed cowboy who’s stolen her heart?

Some writers like quiet when they write, others want music. Which one are you?

I’m definitely one that likes quiet! It’s almost impossible for me to write with my husband or daughters around. Just too hard to get lost in the words. J On the weekends, we have a couple of hours of “quiet time” in the afternoons. It’s a nice rest for the family, and I get so much writing done! Needless to say, my house is rarely pristine…

Are you a panster or a plotter? Linear or non-linear writer?

I’m a plotter, for sure, and have a pretty detailed process for my plotting. I usually mull the story in my mind for a few weeks until if feels like I have a basic story line. Then I create a Plot Overview—a 2-3 page document similar to a synopsis, that includes plot points, internal and external motivations, and spiritual arcs. After that, I create a chapter outline, describing each scene within the chapter in a paragraph or two. This document is usually between 15-20 pages long (single-spaced). Then, I start writing! J

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? If so, what did you do to break it? If not, what’s your secret to keeping it at bay?

I think every writer has! If I know basically how the scene should go, but I’m just having trouble putting decent words together, my only cure for writer’s block is forcing myself to sit at the computer and WRITE! The words are usually crummy, but I give myself short 100 word goals. After I get through the first 200-300, things usually get easier.

If I have writer’s block about how the story should go, sometimes it helps to sit at the computer and brainstorm every possible way this scene could unfold. Some of the things on my brainstorm list are unbelievably dull, and some are pretty far out there! I always come up a scene I love, though.

How often do you read non-fiction?

Not very often anymore.  Most of the non-fiction I read these days (besides the Bible and devotionals) are books on the writing craft. I read tons of fiction, though! Both because I thoroughly enjoy it, and to learn other techniques, discover new authors, and keep my imagination fresh!

Most writers love books—our walls are lined with them. Name 3 favorite writing craft books on your shelves, 3 fiction books (and the genre), and if you have them, 3 different magazines you read regularly.

Hmm… It’s hard to narrow them down!

Writing Craft Books:

  1. Plot and Structure by James Scott Bell
  2. Write Your Novel from the Middle by James Scott Bell
  3. ROMANCE-ology 101 by Julie Lessman (for the romance writer)

Novels (in no particular order):

  1. Beguiled by Deeanne Gist (Romantic Suspense)
  2. Short-Straw Bride by Karen Witemeyer (Historical Romance)
  3. A Bride in the Bargain by Deeanne Gist (Historical Romance)

Magazines:

  1. Writer’s Digest
  2. Southern Living
  3. Whatever’s sitting in the doctor’s waiting room J

You mentioned cabins set in majestic setting earlier. What is the farthest place from your home that you have visited?

For our high school graduation, my grandparents took my brother and I on a road trip from South Carolina to Alaska (and back). We drove a camper, and it was one of the most special experiences of my life! So many of the places we visited have been inspirations or settings for my books.

Let’s give the reader some Quickies about you:

Favorite food? It’s a toss-up between chocolate and cheesecake. I’m a true woman. J

Favorite singer or band? Gary Allan has always been one of my favorites. If you’ve never heard him croon “Smoke Rings in the Dark,” you’re missing a real treat.

Favorite season? Autumn. I love the crisp taste in the air, the relief from Carolina summer humidity, and the opportunity to bundle up in a sweater with a hot cup of coffee.

Favorite flower? I’m such an old-fashioned gal, so I love roses. But I love white lilies, too. In fact, my wedding bouquet was made up of three huge white lilies surrounded by smaller pink roses.

Favorite color? My daughters have ingrained in my mind that our favorite colors are pink and purple. I also like sky blue and hunter green, though. J

Mug or teacup? Mmmm… Mug. I love to wrap both hands around a mug, inhaling the warmth and the aroma of a good cup of coffee.

It’s been a pleasure having you here today. As you say goodbye, can you leave the readers with an encapsulation of your life’s philosophy?

Hmm… For many years, I’ve lived by the motto “That which does not kill us makes us stronger.”

I should explain what I mean by that. J Sometimes life is hard. We work hard, and go through rough times. When God leads us through these tough situations, He always has a plan—a plan for us to have hope and a future. So when I’m going through the hardest times, I know He’s using the circumstances to make me stronger in Him. J

Here’s and blurb and excerpt from Misty’s book:

The Lady and the Mountain Man

Leah Townsend, a recently orphaned heiress, flees Richmond after discovering her fiancé’s plot to kill her after their wedding. She needs a safe place to hide, and finds herself accepting a newspaper marriage proposal from a God-fearing young rancher in the Montana Territory. But when Leah arrives at the mountain ranch, she learns her intended husband was killed by a grizzly, leaving behind a bitter older brother and a spunky younger sister.

When Gideon Bryant finds a city girl standing in his log cabin, his first thought is to send her back where she came from. He’s lost too many people to the wild elements of these mountains––his parents, his wife, and now his brother. His love for this untamed land lives on, but he’s determined not to open his heart to another person.

But when an accident forces Leah to stay at the ranch for seven more months, can Gideon protect his heart from a love he doesn’t want? Has Leah really escaped the men who seek her life?

 

Leah started off again on foot, leading her horse so she could follow the dog’s trail of blood. The going was slow and exhausting, with the snow mid-thigh in most areas. Finally, she mounted her horse. The crimson trail was clearer now, and time was of the essence.

They moved uphill, wrapping around the mountain and skirting boulders that peeked out from the snow. The trees had thinned and morphed into low shrubs with occasional scruffy pine. She had a bad feeling about this.

Miriam continued to call Gideon’s name, and the fear in her tone intensified the farther they rode.

Leah looked around the area as they continued the search. Her eyes drifted back to the ground. No blood. The snow appeared solid white. Had they missed Gideon? She drew her horse to a stop and surveyed the area as far as she could see. No sign of the man. Should they continue or backtrack?

An opening in the rock side of the mountain caught her attention. A cave. She jumped from her horse and looped the mare’s reins on a branch.

“Gideon?” Leah’s hands shook as she struggled to unhook the lantern from her saddle horn. She proceeded cautiously into the mouth of the cave, her light almost ineffective against the deep darkness. “Gideon!”

A faint moan sounded, and she shuffled in that direction. The lantern gradually illuminated a body lying prone on the rock floor. Leah’s heart clenched as she dropped to her knees beside him. “Gideon…”

He was a tangled mass of blood, and his rugged face had blanched to an eerie white, outlined by the red that dripped down his left cheek. Leah touched his forehead. His skin was so cold. God, please! She moved her hand down to his neck. A soft rhythm thumped against her fingers. Thank you!

“Gideon, can you hear me?” She spoke softly, the darkness casting foreign shadows around them.

“Leah…” His voice was raspy and his eyes were still closed, but Gideon had spoken. Leah’s heart gave a little leap.

“I’m here, Gideon.” She stroked his good cheek, her eyes wandering over every strong line of his face. Pain had etched grooves around his eyes.

“Prayed… you’d… come.” His words reached into her chest were her heart resided and squeezed.

Buy links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MQB7F4U

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/  

http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-lady-and-the-mountain-man-1

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/467511

 

Profile Pic mainMisty Beller was raised on a farm in South Carolina, so her Southern roots run deep. Growing up, her family was close, and they continue to keep that priority today. Her husband and two daughters now add another dimension to her life, keeping her both grounded and crazy.

God has placed a desire in Misty’s heart to combine her love for Christian fiction and the simpler ranch life, writing historical novels that display God’s abundant love through the twists and turns in the lives of her characters.

Writing is a dream come true for Misty. Her family—both immediate and extended—is the foundation that holds her secure in that dream.

You can find Misty on her website, blog, Goodreads, Twitter, Google+, and Pinterest.

Contact links:

Website http://mistymbeller.com

Blog: http://mistymbeller.wordpress.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/MistyMBeller

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/MistyMBeller

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/MistyMBeller

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+MistyBeller

