Tags

, , , , , ,

SOS Cover MEDIUMI was very curious as to what this Christian time travel story, Shimmers of Stardust, might yield, because I love time travel stories. And, with a few exceptions, I was not disappointed in this book.

The story begins as Logan Riley, a Civil War hero who has turned renegade outlaw—an outlaw with a conscious, is about to be hanged for his crimes. One hundred-forty odd years later, anthropologist Dr. McKenzie Lynne is hired by a group of physicists to find some great treasure that will prove time travel is possible. What she finds is Logan, a dusty cowboy buried beneath a pile of shimmery powder. She learns he is the great treasure and then discovers the true intent of their work. Horrified, she runs off, taking their great treasure with her. And the adventure begins as Logan and McKenzie try to outrun the physicists and the military they’ve hired to find them.

Ms. Summers has created a hero that gave me goosebumps every time he says, “Darlin’.” A 1800’s era outlaw with a conscious, he is out-of-place in the modern world and delighted me with his speech and his thoughts about modern-day things we take for granted. He really shines when he and McKenzie are on the run in the wilds of the west. He’s the kind of man a girl would want to protect her from bad guys.

The author defined the book as a Christian romance with a bit of time travel. I think it’s the other way around—a time travel romance with a bit of Christian faith woven in. I loved how the author wove the Christian element in without being heavy-handed. The heroine didn’t spout scripture and the method in which the hero was re-introduced to faith was organic. Because of her handling of the faith issue, I think this is a sweet romance even non-Christians would enjoy.

I also loved the story’s plot, although there were a few places where I wanted to smack the heroine because of her selective intelligence. She does some really smart things while running from the bad guys that made me say, “Wow. That was clever!” She also does some really dumb things that disappointed me. But then, I’m always yelling at the heroine who goes into the dark basement when she hears strange noises. If she didn’t there might not be any story.☺

My biggest problem with this story was head hopping. Yes, Nora Roberts can get by with it, and lots of authors practice it, but for me, this is a big no-no. However, once I got used to the bouncing POV, and overlooked a few small problems, I enjoyed this book.

Shimmers of Stardust shines with four stars. Brava Ms. Summers!

To learn more about Ryan Jo and her book Shimmers of Stardust, click here.

 

 

 

 

 

