Tags

, ,

We were watching a movie Monday night while the hubby perused his email when he found the notice about Robin Williams’ death. A loud, “Oh, no!” interrupted the television show and he proceeded to tell me the bad news. Seconds after he’d read the email, I got a call from my sister letting me know about the tragedy. She knew that I love the actor and comedian Robin Williams and wanted to let me know about his death. Four days have passed and I’ve had Robin Williams on my mind a lot. Next to the death of Elvis and dancer/actor Patrick Swayze, I have not been as sad over any other actor’s passing as I am about Robin Williams. The world has lost a truly great comedian and actor.

The tragedy of someone who brought so much laughter to the world committing suicide because his own depression is a heartbreaking thing. My heart goes out to his wife who said she’s lost her best friend.

mork and mindy gamerobin williamsFrom the first days of Williams’ career as the wildly zany alien on Mork and Mindy, of which I never missed an episode, I have been a huge fan. When the Mork and Mindy board game came out, I bought it. The game can get rowdy, and we once broke some of my sister’s iced tea glasses while playing. Fortunately, the game cards were spared.

I also have a 250 piece puzzle of Mork, from Ork. His red space suit was the dickens to piece together. Once I had it finished, I carefully broke it apart in large pieces and laid in back in the box.

Williams had the ability to not only be funny, but he was a serious actor, too. Although, I have to admit my most favorite films are his comedies such as Mrs. Doubtfire, RV, the Night at the Museum films (he made a perfect Teddy Roosevelt), and Hook, where he played the eternal boy Peter Pan.

Since he burst into television fame on Mork and Mindy in the 70s, Williams made 54 films and had 2 television series, the last of which, The Crazy Ones, only survived one season. Just this past year he had been working on four films, which are scheduled for release this year and in 2015. A Mrs. Doubtfire 2 was in the works, too.

Here are my favorite Robin Williams’ films.

  • Mrs. Doubtfire
  • RV
  • Dead Poets’ Society
  • Jumanji
  • Hook
  • Good Morning Vietnam
  • Patch Adams
  • Night at the Museum
  • Bicentennial Man
  • Jack

I admit there are quite a few movies I haven’t seen, mostly because they played during a time I didn’t go to the movies a lot, and we aren’t big into buying videos. Having discovered how many films Williams made, I’m going to have a lot of catch-up, movie-viewing time. I will definitely be seeing the last four films he made this year— when they appear on the big screen.

According to some articles I’ve read, people who knew Williams said he gave 1000 percent and that he was a wonderful man. One thing I know for sure …movie goers everywhere will miss his poignant portrayals of characters and his zany comedy, which kept us laughing out loud.

Rest in Peace, Robin.

 

Are you a Robin Williams fan? What’s your favorite Robin Williams’ movie?

