Tags

, , , , , ,

 

 SoulsEntwined_505x825

When a cursed family heirloom sends Gretta Dobbs back in time, a hunky construction worker, Sam Daggett, suddenly finds himself love struck and joins her adventure. Their souls entwine within the bodies of young lovers on a Greek island in 1829, where they begin to unravel the mysteries behind Gretta’s ring all while avoiding a bloodthirsty pirate who is determined to seek revenge. Gretta and Sam must find the secrets needed to save her and her relatives from an afterlife in purgatory and return to their own lives—or risk becoming prisoners of the past, continuing the evil cycle of the ring’s curse.

 

 

 

 

Welcome, Anne. Your book sounds really interesting, especially since I love time travel stories with magical elements. Is this your first book, and how did you come up with the idea?

Souls Entwined is my very first novel. I’ve been writing for about four years. At first, it was simply for fun and something to fill in the time I spent watching my kids’ swim practices and swim meets. After had I finished my first draft, I met my two critique partners online. They inspire me every day and without them, I would have never become a published author.

When I was about 10, my grandmother gave me an heirloom ring. She told me that it was her great, great grandmother’s ring and that her brother had brought it over from Europe when he was a sailor in the early 1800s. When I realized how old it was, I tried to give it back. She insisted that the stone was only a garnet and that it wasn’t worth much, but it was the oldest thing she ever owned and wanted me to keep it safe.

garnet ring

My Garnet Ring

The ring is the inspiration behind Souls Entwined as it has been passed down in my family for about 200 years. The rest of the story came from my imagination. I don’t believe my ring is cursed, and I wear it often. It was fun creating a cursed story about it.

What a fantastic inspiration for a story. What are you working on now?

Currently, I am working on the sequel. It is tentatively named, Souls Estranged. I hope to send it to my publisher next month.

I’m always interested in knowing if writers are full-time or have other jobs. Do you have a day job?

During the day, I work part time as a preschool teacher. I’ve always wanted to write a children’s book, have it published, and then read it to my students. Right now I have submitted a children’s book to a publisher, and I’m anxiously waiting to hear from them. I plan to continue writing New Adult/Young Adult (sweet) romantic suspense stories and have an outline for the third and final ‘Souls’ book. Writing the children’s picture book was refreshing because it has only 265 words compared to my novels that are about 91,000.

Are you a pen and paper or  computer writer?

I wrote the first draft of Souls Entwined in composition notebooks. I started it about 4 years ago when I shared a computer with the other 4 members of my family. Needless to say, I didn’t get much ‘computer time.’ Now I have my own laptop and my second novel has been written on it from the start.

I see you sent us some pictures of settings. Tell us a bit about them, please.

I have multiple settings in Souls Entwined, and I have placed Sam and Gretta in scenes where I can picture them in real life. Here is the park that Sam and Gretta met.

woods

 

And here is the grassy field nestled in the mountains of Virginia where Sam and Gretta returned to after they were in the past.

milos

 

As for other settings in my story, Milos is a beautiful island in the Aegean Sea, and I hope to visit there someday. The PIT…well, I’d rather not experience a creepy, evil purgatory place…ever!

As writers we like to read. What’s the first book you remember reading and what are you reading now?

The first book I remember reading as a child was ‘Go Dog Go!’ by P.D. Eastman. I read that book to my brother every day and we never grew tired of it. I read every chance I can get and always have a book or my Kindle in my car. With three teenagers, I spend a lot of time in the car waiting for practices to end. I’m currently reading, ‘The Earl’s Enticement’ by Collette Cameron. Every summer I read a classic. I picked out Great Expectations by Charles Dickenson this year.

Do you have any hobbies?

I have several hobbies, including running, gardening, baking, and taking photos. Her is a picture I took today of some irises around the house.

irises

And here is one of a brave little chipmunk tormenting my three inside cats.

chipmunk and cats

I love these photos!

Here’s a snapshot look at some of my favorites:

Favorite Food: Chocolate

Favorite Singer/Band: Luke Bryan

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Flower: Violets

Favorite Color: Purple

Mug or Tea cup: Mug with tea insideJ

Thanks, Catherine for having me here today! Here’s a quote that I came across during last minute edits of Souls Entwined. It fit my situation perfectly and I find myself repeating it to my kids.

“No pressure. No diamonds.”

Thanks for visiting with us, Anne!

Here’s an excerpt from Anne’s book Souls Entwined.

Excerpt from Chapter Two of Souls Entwined

Not a sound was heard as Sam’s eyes snapped open. Under the branches of the downed tree, Purple Shorts began to stir.

“Sorry, are you okay?” Sam gently lifted his weight off her.

“I think so,” she replied faintly. Sam released his hold on her shoulder, amazed her face wasn’t scratched. He wondered how bad he appeared.

“Do you think you can stand?”

She nodded. Together they rose to their feet, easily stepping out from the tangle of branches. Eyes growing wide, she began to sway.

“Sit,” Sam commanded, steadying her.

“No, look!” She pointed.

Sam gazed over his shoulder. His mouth fell open. Beneath the tree, their bodies lay, motionless.

“Are we . . .” Purple Shorts began, but Sam shook his head slowly.

Before she could say more, he interrupted, “I don’t know. Do you feel—”

“Dead?”

He scanned the area for help. Everything around them was still, as if they were watching a movie and someone hit ‘pause.’ No wind, no sound, no movement. He flinched when cold fingers clutched his hand.

Squeezing gently, he lifted her hand in front of their faces. “Can you feel this?”

Purple Shorts nodded.

“I don’t think we’re dead,” Sam whispered, gazing into her blue eyes.

 About the Author:

5a

Souls Entwined is Anne B. Cole’s debut release, combining sweet romantic suspense, time travel, and paranormal elements in a New Adult novel attractive to a wide range of readers.

In addition to writing, Anne teaches preschool and is raising three very active teenagers with her husband of twenty-two years. Her love for making fresh baked goodies, running, hiking, historical fiction, and her three pet cats continue to be her inspiration while she pens the sequel to Souls Entwined.

 

 

How to contact Anne B. Cole:

Facebook

Twitter

Website

www.annebcole.com

Buy Link:

Souls Entwined

 

 

 

 

 

