Tags

, , ,

Today Wednesday Writers is featuring author Felicia Rogers. She will be sharing her writing and reading habits as well as her inspirational romance A Month in Cologne. Welcome, Felicia.

Please tell the readers about the book that is being showcased today. aMonthinCologne_200x300A Month in Cologne is about two people who travel to Cologne, Germany, meet, and fall in love. So that is the short and sweet version. To elaborate further the story is about two people who travel to Cologne with certain expectations, however, they soon discover that life is not always what it seems and you must always be prepared for the unexpected.

How did you come up with the concept for this book? The concept was a challenge from a publisher. Pick an exotic locale, and use three elements in the story. I chose Cologne, Germany. Because of the rich biblical history of the country, I decided to go with a background theme of the reformation. The three elements to be included in the story were a porch swing, fluffy pillows, and something else I can’t remember, but I know I got it in there!

What are you working on now? Do you have a release date for this book? I’m currently working on several projects. I just released the second book in my Wounded Soldiers Series and book three is to the proofing stage, but at this time I don’t have a release date.

Do you write in more than one genre? If so, why? I have written in more than one genre. I mainly stick with romance, because I love writing about love, but I have ventured into Chick-Lit…once.

Some writers like quiet when they write, others want music. Which one are you? A little of both. When I wrote the third book in my Wounded Soldiers series, which is set in Chiapas, Mexico, I spent hours listening to Spanish guitar music. When I wrote A Month in Cologne, I listened to Germany folk music, particularly the lute. John serenaded Rachel and I wanted to hear the music with her.

Are you pen and paper writer, strictly computer, or some combo of the two? I’m a combination of the two. If I can’t get to the computer and something is on my mind, I’ll grab pen and paper and jot it down before I forget.

Do you revise on paper or on the computer? Both! If I’ve written on paper, I’ll read over it and strike/edit/revise sections before entering them into the computer.

Do you have a favorite book? (Or books since it’s always hard to whittle it down to one.) I love the Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers, A.D. Chronicles Series by Brock and Bodie Thoene, anything by Lynn Kurland, anything by Verna Clay, and so many more!

What’s the book you are reading now? I just finished Duo by Sarah Schofield, an amazing young adult novel, and now I’m reading Branded in Oasis by Verna Clay.

Do you know the meaning of your name? If so, does it fit you? The meaning of my name is happiness. I’m not sure if that fits me, I’ll have to ask around and find out!

I love going to the movies. Do you? If so, what was the most recent movie you’ve seen? Capitan America, The Winter Soldier! I love super hero movies! For my birthday last year I went to see Ironman III.

Quickies:

Favorite food? Pizza

Favorite singer or band? Credence Clearwater Revival

Favorite season? Summer

Favorite flower? Rose

Favorite color? Purple!

Mug or teacup? Mug

It’s been a pleasure having you here today. As you say goodbye, can you leave the readers with an encapsulation of your life’s philosophy? One of my favorite Bible verses is Philippians 4:13: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. No matter what happens in this world, Christ is with me. Through the ups and downs, I will never be alone. This is the philosophy I live by and hope to instill in my children.

Always be ready because you never know who might be in your path.

 aMonthinCologne_200x300 Rachel Wilson has committed to work in Cologne, Germany, for one month. Consigned to a tiny apartment, she looks forward to completing her responsibilities to the museum so she may explore Europe and begin her new life.

John Viteri is a confident museum curator, but when he arrives at his new job in Germany, he struggles to find God’s plan for his life.

Thrown together will Rachel and John allow God’s providence to guide them, or will they choose their own path?  

Excerpt From A Month In Cologne

He set his fork down, wiped his mouth, and stared at her face. He never wanted to forget how she looked at this moment. The light shone atop her head and highlighted her natural radiant beauty, stray strands of hair graced the length of her long neck, the silver necklace surrounded by sapphires glistened against her skin. “John, I–I—” “Don’t talk. Just let me look at you.” Shyly, she lowered her eyes then suddenly said, “I need to go to the ladies’ room. Excuse me.” Rachel pushed away from the table and he rushed to stand. The door to the restroom closed and he threw his napkin on the table and dropped his head in his hands. What was he doing? They hadn’t known each other that long. Even if she had added to his list of requirements for potential life partners, was that a reason for him to act like a love-simpering fool? Best just to be glad she was staying in Cologne a little longer then he could take time to see if he really was falling in love with her.

Buy link: http://amzn.com/B00JVAO2AE

authors photoFelicia Rogers is an author of multiple novels and novellas. When she’s not writing, Felicia volunteers with the Girl Scouts of America, teaches at a local homeschooling group, hikes, and spends time with her family. To find out more information about Felicia Rogers visit the sites below. She loves hearing from her readers. Website: http://www.feliciarogersauthor.weebly.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FeliciaRogersAuthor Email: feliciarogersauthor@yahoo.com Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/feliciarogers

