Tags

, ,

200x2014_RONE_Final_inspirational Whoo hoo!! The Nun and the Narc has made it through the second round of the RONEs and is a finalist in the inspirational romance category. I want to say thanks to everyone who voted for the book in the public voting round. I honestly didn’t expect to make it through this round and it’s because of all of you who voted for the book that I did. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Below is a never before excerpt  from the book. I hope you’ll enjoy it.

 The Nun and the Narc

TheNunAndTheNarc2_850 Jed glared at her. “Woman, you are driving me crazy.”

“I told you I had–”

“–A code of conduct. Which could get us killed. Keep it out of the way.”

Margaret made a face at him. “I’ll do my best.”

Jed shook his head. “Somehow, I doubt that.” He motioned toward the door. “Wait inside while I take care of the guard.”

“Don’t kill him. Murder is a sin. I won’t be a party to murder.”

“What do you suggest I do? Ask him nicely not to give us away?”

“Yes, thank you.”

Jed grunted. “Is self-defense a sin, too?”

“I don’t know. I’ve never really thought about it.”

“How about this? I’ll commit the sin. You stay here and pray.”

“I guess I’m overreacting.”

“Just a bit.” A smile played around the corners of his mouth. “Not much excitement in the convent?”

Margaret returned his smile. “Only when I get in trouble.” She obediently moved to the door. “I’ll wait here for you.”

“Good girl!” Jed eased the door open and slipped through.

Margaret heard scuffling sounds. Grunts. Gagging. Thuds. Then silence. Why doesn’t Jed reappear? Has he won? Or been overcome? Will the guard come for me? Margaret’s heart pounded in her chest. She was going to die! She just knew it.

Adrenaline kicked in. She ran across the room to the stove and grabbed the iron skillet. Maybe self-defense wasn’t a big sin. If it were, she would ask for forgiveness later.

The door eased open. Margaret raised the skillet over her head and swung it down. A hand shot out and grabbed her wrist, stopping the skillet mid-swing.

