Tags

, , , , , ,

photo by Catherine Castle (c)

photo by Catherine Castle (c)

I began a new tradition last year when I bought my Kindle: reading a Christmas romance at the start of the holiday season. Last year I read Kay Stockham’s The Crash Before Christmas. Her book, which I enjoyed, was one of the first I downloaded on my new Kindle last year.

To start my search off this year I checked for Christmas romances on Amazon and Barnes and Noble for our e-book readers.  I found 1,634 Christmas romances listed for the Nook and 2,678 Christmas romances for the Kindle. Granted, some of those titles probably crossed over, but still that’s a lot of Christmas books. It would take the whole month of December to sort through the lists.

So, to narrow the choices down, I went to the internet and looked up some of this season’s best selling Christmas romances on Publisher’s Weekly, USA Today Top 100, and Amazon’s and Barnes and Noble’s Top 100.  Here’s what I found, listed in no particular order.

  • 1225 Christmas Tree Lane  by Debbie Macomber
  • My Kind of Christmas by Robyn Carr
  • A Winter Wonderland by Fern Michaels, Leslie Meier, Holly Chamberlain, Kristin McMorris
  • Lawman’s Christmas by Linda Lael Miller
  • Cowboy for Christmas: A Jubilee, Texas Novel by Lori Wilde
  • A Christmas Bride by Susan Mallory
  • Holly Love by Toni Blake
  • The First Love Cookie Club by Lori Wilde
  • A Family Christmas by Helen Scott Taylor
  • The Christmas Sisters by Annie Jones
  • A Perfect Holiday Fling by Farrah Rochon
  • Christmas of the Red Chiefs by Linda Lael Miller
  • The Holiday Hoax by Jennifer Probst
  • Angels at the Table by Debbie Macomber
  • The Christmas Cookie Chronicles by Lori Wilde
  • A Christmas Bride by Mary Balogh

 

I apologize for not linking to all of these books. I think that would be overkill and might mark me as a spammer on WordPress. Also, for any inspirational and sweet romance readers who might be reading this blog, I cannot attest to the heat level of any of the above mentioned romances save Debbie Macomber, who I know writes sweet romance.  (If there were sensual scenes in Kay’s book I don’t remember them. All I remember is the clever story line which  is why I’d recommend the book.) My goal was to make a list of Christmas romances, not provide a testimony for each book I listed.

If you’ve read any of the above books and would like to leave a comment about them, please do so. It might help me make a second or third choice. For now, I think I’ll download Angels at the Table by Debbie Macomber. I think her angels Shirley, Goodness and Mercy are a hoot.

Do you have a favorite Christmas romance novel?

