Tags

, , , ,

I love poetry and poetic forms. The acrostic is one of my favorite forms. While perusing my blog idea files I came across this acrostic poem I’d written entitled Procrastination, so I decided to do a couple more poems related to writing. Hope you enjoy them

Procrastination
© Catherine Castle
 
Putting a rear in the chair
Requires determination.
Obstinate excuses just
Cause you to vacillate and
Ruminate on proposed
Actions. Take a firm, clear
Stand on your dreams and
Tackle those jobs that
Intimidate you. Allow
No nay saying. You must
Act on your dreams. Don’t
Take the easy way out.
If you do, you’ll never
Overtake your potential, and
No one will know your name.
 

Photo by Jon Sullivan Photo Courtesy PDPhoto.org 

It’s not a computer, but I loved the picture of this old typewriter so much I had to use it with this poem. After all some of the best classic books were pounded out on a typewriter.

The Writer
© Catherine Castle
 
Watching the monitor
Roll I dream of novels as
I struggle with verb
Tenses and phrases
Encroaching on my
Real writer’s block.
 
 

photo by Catherine Castle (c)

Bibliophilia
© Catherine Castle
 
Bibliophilia. I have this bug. An
Infectious disease that knows no
Bounds. I nurse it, fascinated,
Letting it rule me, this overwhelming
Illness that sounds like it should make
Others run from me, screaming and
      Pounding pavement, trying to escape the
 Hellish malady.  It stems from paper,
Ink and words, and is spreading as
  Letters pour from tomes to e-books.
I embrace it, filling up my Kindl
 As an addict fills up his veins.
 
 

Can you relate to any of these poems? Obviously, I can!

