Tags

, , , , , ,

Eight More Ways to Stop Writer’s Procrastination ©

 “Procrastination is the thief of time.” Edward Young

It’s a bad habit— procrastination.  Sometimes, when I don’t feel like calling myself a procrastinator, I’ll tell myself I’m just giving my ideas time to bubble to the surface or working out the steps needed to finish whatever, or I’m making hay while the sun shines and I’ll write when it rains, or I’ll convince myself I’m taking care of important family stuff first, or I’m just waiting to see if that languishing item on my list really needs attention.

Whatever you might choose to call it, procrastination is the opposite of advancing, and as writers, advancement is what we want and need to do.  So, don’t delay reading my last eight tips for stopping writer’s procrastination. If you didn’t see the first seven ways check this out: Seven Ways to Stop Writer’s Procrastination.

  • Don’t wait to start writing. Delaying the project only makes you feel like a loser, puts more pressure on you to complete it, and can actually end in defeat when you tell yourself “I’ll never get it done now.”
  •  Feel free to fail. Every word you write won’t be golden. Some will be garbage and some will be platinum. Realize you’ll be tossing something at the trash can and let it go.
  • Work on one section at a time. Don’t jump around without finishing the current project. There’s a great sense of accomplishment that comes from a completed chapter, that first draft, or the completed dreaded synopsis or query.
  • Create a pleasant atmosphere for working. Make your writing space a neat, orderly haven. Make sure you don’t have to uncover the computer every time you want to write, or have to search for half an hour just to find a pencil and paper. Decorate your space and surround yourself with things you like – things that inspire you.
  • Take short exercise breaks to keep up your energy – and keep you toned. Too much sitting without any exercise isn’t good for anyone.
  • Reward yourself as each job is completed. Did you make your daily or weekly goal? Then do something special for yourself. Buy a new book. Get a latte from your favorite coffee shop. Get your nails done. Have lunch with a friend. You can get real creative here.
  • Post inspirational quotes to keep you motivated. The best way to realize that writing is hard work is to let the experts, and the published, cheer you on. Buy a writer’s book of quotes and post the ones that inspire you to write. Remember, the authors you admire were once in your position. Success is only an editor away.
  • Share dreaded tasks with critique partners. Hate plotting? Then brainstorm with other writers. Get tips on how to write that query. Let others help you figure out to shore up that sagging middle. Writing is a solitary profession and we can all benefit from interaction with other writers.

Do you employ any of these tips to halt writer’s procrastination? What tips can you add?

